ArticleJournal of managed care & specialty pharmacy2026
US commercial health plan use of corticosteroids in step therapy protocols: Frequency and clinical appropriateness.
Article in Journal of managed care & specialty pharmacy, 2026. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Not yet cited in PubMed.
What it found
Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.
The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.
The trial behind it
Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.
Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.
Who cites it
0 citing papers in PubMed.
No citing paper in PubMed yet.
Corrections and comments
PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.
Authors and funding
5 authors.
Funding
No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.
Abstract
backgroundCommercial health plans may include corticosteroids in step therapy protocols for specialty drugs as part of use management. However, alignment with regulatory and clinical guidance is not well characterized.
objectiveTo assess how corticosteroids are incorporated into plan-imposed step therapy protocols and evaluate alignment with US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) labeling, clinical guidelines, and pivotal trials.
methodsWe analyzed coverage policies from 18 large US commercial health plans in the Tufts Medical Center Specialty Drug Evidence and Coverage Database, reflecting policies active as of August 2024. We identified drug-indication pairs for which at least 1 plan included corticosteroids in step therapy. For each drug-indication pair, we reviewed FDA labeling to determine whether prior corticosteroid failure was consistent with FDA-recommended use. When corticosteroid use was not specified by FDA labels, we examined pivotal clinical trials and clinical guidelines to assess support for corticosteroid use in step therapy. We also examined how health plans operationalized corticosteroid use (eg, systemic vs local use, single vs multiple steps, etc).
resultsWe identified 201 specialty drug-indication pairs and 2,767 corresponding coverage policies for which at least 1 plan included corticosteroids in step therapy. Of these drug-indication pairs, 33 (16.4%) had an FDA label indication recommending prior corticosteroids use, whereas 168 (83.6%) did not. Among 2,210 coverage policies for the 168 pairs without FDA label-indicated prior corticosteroid use, 952 (43.1%) included corticosteroids in step therapy protocols. In 21% (200/952) of these policies, corticosteroid use was a mandatory step, whereas the remaining 79% (752/952) allowed patients to meet the requirement by failing alternative agents (eg, immunomodulators). In total, 63.8% (607/952) specified the use of corticosteroids to be systemic. Few protocols defined dosage requirements (7.9%, 75/952) or treatment failure criteria (3.8%, 36/952). Among policies in which FDA labeling did not specify prior corticosteroid use, plans were significantly more likely to include corticosteroids in step therapy when corticosteroid use was an eligibility criterion in pivotal clinical trials (
conclusionsCommercial health plans frequently include corticosteroids in step therapy, including when not specified in FDA labeling. Substantial variation in implementation highlights opportunities to improve transparency and consistency.
Indexed as
Identifiers
What OpenQuestion holds
Registered trials
Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the OpenQuestion graph.