Evidence map›Paper›PMID 40226888›Full record

SynthesisThe Cochrane database of systematic reviews2025

Surgical interventions for presbyopia.

Rosa Alvarado-Villacorta, Tsz Wing Yim, Everardo Hernandez-Quintela, Enrique De La Torre-Gonzalez, Cesar Antonio Loza Munarriz, Maria José Martinez-Zapata

Abstract readMeta-AnalysisSystematic Review
In one paragraph

Synthesis in The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 2025. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 7 papers, 1 of them a synthesis that pooled it.

0numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
7citing papers in PubMed, 1 pooled it
–field-weighted citation impact
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.

2 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

3 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

7 citing papers in PubMed, 1 synthesis or guideline pooled it.

  1. Surgical interventions for presbyopia.The Cochrane database of systematic reviews · 2025
    Pooled it
  2. Review
  3. Article
  4. Article
  5. Optical interventions for presbyopia.The Cochrane database of systematic reviews · 2025
    Article
  6. Article
  7. Article
4 · The record

Corrections and comments

PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.

5 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

6 authors.

Rosa Alvarado-VillacortaCornea and Refractive Surgery Department, Asociación para Evitar la Ceguera en México I.A.P, Mexico City, Mexico.
Tsz Wing YimDepartment of Ophthalmology, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, Colorado, USA.
Everardo Hernandez-QuintelaDivision of Comprehensive Ophthalmology, Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, USA.
Enrique De La Torre-GonzalezCornea and Refractive Surgery Department, Asociación para Evitar la Ceguera en México I.A.P, Mexico City, Mexico.
Cesar Antonio Loza MunarrizClinical Epidemiology Unit, Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, Lima, Peru.
Maria José Martinez-ZapataIberoamerican Cochrane Centre, Institut de Recerca Sant Pau (IR Sant Pau), CIBER de Epidemiología y Salud Pública (CIBERESP), Barcelona, Spain.

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

6 · The paper itself

Abstract

rationalePresbyopia is a progressive condition that everyone who lives long enough will experience, irrespective of gender, ethnicity, or economic status. A wide range of surgical options has emerged for overcoming near and intermediate visual impairment; however, questions about the effectiveness and safety of these interventions remain unanswered. Given the global burden of presbyopia and the need to improve decision-making practices in tailoring management and allocating scarce resources, it is essential to review the available evidence on this issue systematically.

objectivesThe primary objective was to compare the effectiveness and safety of surgical interventions for people with presbyopia; the secondary objective was to produce a brief economic commentary summarizing relevant economic evaluations that have compared different surgical interventions. SEARCH

methodsWe searched the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, MEDLINE, Embase, two other databases, and trial registries on 29 February 2024. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA: We included randomized controlled trials in participants with presbyopia, including those who had pseudophakic presbyopia with or without previous corneal refractive surgery, in which one surgical intervention was compared with another or a modified version of the same intervention. We excluded trials that had enrolled participants mainly for cataract surgery or who had other ocular comorbidities such as glaucoma, diabetes mellitus, age-related macular degeneration, or myopic retinopathy. OUTCOMES: Outcomes of interest were spectacle independence for near and intermediate vision, change in quality of life (QoL), improvement in or maintenance of binocular uncorrected distance visual acuity (VA), participant satisfaction, change in binocular contrast sensitivity (CS), and frequency of adverse events (AE). RISK OF BIAS: We used the Cochrane RoB 2 tool to assess bias for each outcome in each included trial. SYNTHESIS

methodsWe planned to synthesize results for each outcome using meta-analysis (random-effect models) where possible, or else use synthesis without meta-analysis methods. However, due to insufficient data for each pairwise comparison (i.e. only one study reported data per analysis), we employed narrative synthesis. We used GRADE to assess the certainty of evidence for each outcome. INCLUDED STUDIES: We included four studies that enrolled 300 participants (600 eyes); most participants were women; mean ages ranged between 46 and 58 years. Two trials were conducted in Croatia, one in Egypt, and one in Turkey. Three studies compared a surgical intervention for presbyopia with another, and one study compared a surgical intervention with a modified version of the same intervention. All enrolled participants had presbyopia without cataracts, other comorbidities, or previous ocular surgery. No trials were registered before initiation. One trial reported no funding and no financial conflicts of interest; the others provided no information. SYNTHESIS OF

resultsOnly one study provided data per pairwise comparison of interventions. No study reported outcomes at 12 months or provided economic data. Diffractive bifocal intraocular lens (IOL) versus refractive bifocal IOL after refractive lens exchange (RLE) At six months, the diffractive bifocal IOL group showed no evidence of a difference in spectacle independence for near vision (risk ratio [RR] 1.06, 95% confidence interval [CI] 0.82 to 1.37; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence), intermediate vision (RR 0.93, 95% CI 0.81 to 1.07; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence), or participant satisfaction (RR 1.09, 95% CI 0.99 to 1.19; 100 participants; very low-certainty evidence) compared with refractive bifocal IOL implantation after RLE. Ocular AEs may be less frequent in the diffractive bifocal IOL group (RR [non-event] 1.38, 95% CI 1.05 to 1.81; 100 participants; very low-certainty evidence). Changes in QoL, binocular CS, or binocular uncorrected distance VA were not reported. Diffractive bifocal IOL after RLE versus laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis (LASIK) monovision At six months, diffractive bifocal IOL implantation showed no evidence of a difference compared with LASIK monovision in spectacle independence for near vision (RR 1.07, 95% CI 0.92 to 1.25; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence), the proportion of participants achieving 0.0 LogMAR or better distance vision (RR 0.87, 95% CI 0.69 to 1.11; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence), or improvement in participant satisfaction (RR 0.98, 95% CI 0.89 to 1.07; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence). However, LASIK monovision may improve spectacle independence for intermediate vision at six months (RR 0.82, 95% CI 0.72 to 0.94; 100 participants; low-certainty evidence) and may reduce ocular AE (RR [non-event] 0.58, 95% CI 0.46 to 0.74; 100 participants; very low-certainty evidence). Changes in QoL or binocular CS were not reported. Diffractive trifocal IOL versus extended depth of focus IOL after RLE No data on spectacle independence, participant satisfaction, binocular CS, or ocular AE were reported. At three months after surgery, neither of the two interventions may offer a clinically significant advantage over the other, either for QoL scores (mean difference [MD] -0.08, 95% CI-0.15 to -0.01; 74 participants; very low-certainty evidence) or binocular uncorrected near VA (MD 0.01, 95% CI -0.02 to 0.04; 74 participants), intermediate VA (MD 0.01, 95% CI -0.01 to 0.03; 74 participants) or distance VA (MD 0.01, 95% CI -0.01 to 0.03; 74 participants; low-certainty evidence). Modified wavefront-guided (WG) LASIK versus conventional WG LASIK We found no data for spectacle independence, QoL, participant satisfaction, or ocular AE. Data from one study suggested no evidence of a difference between the interventions in improvement in uncorrected distance VA or change in binocular CS at three months. However, we had concerns about potential bias, and the data were insufficient for quantitative analysis. AUTHORS'

conclusionsThe available data were limited to short-term (three months) and mid-term (six months) outcomes and provided low- or very low-certainty evidence. Little information was reported regarding QoL, binocular CS, or ocular AEs; no study addressed economic aspects of interventions.

fundingThis Cochrane review had no internal source of support. External sources: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health, USA; Public Health Agency, UK; Queen's University Belfast, UK. REGISTRATION: Protocol (2023): doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD015711.

Indexed as

PresbyopiaBiasContrast SensitivityHumansQuality of LifeRandomized Controlled Trials as TopicVisual Acuity

Identifiers

PMID40226888
PMCPMC11995687

What OpenQuestion holds

Textmetadata
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the OpenQuestion graph.