Evidence map›Paper›PMID 35274741›Full record

SynthesisThe Cochrane database of systematic reviews2022

Systemic interventions for treatment of Stevens-Johnson syndrome (SJS), toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN), and SJS/TEN overlap syndrome.

Audrey Jacobsen, Bayanne Olabi, Annie Langley, Jennifer Beecker, Eric Mutter, Amanda Shelley, Brandon Worley, Timothy Ramsay, Arturo Saavedra, Roses Parker and 2 more

Open access · greenAbstract readMeta-AnalysisSystematic Review
In one paragraph

Synthesis in The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 2022. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. Cited by 61 papers, 7 of them syntheses that pooled it.

0numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
61citing papers in PubMed, 7 pooled it
5.4field-weighted citation impact, top 4% of its field
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.

2 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

3 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

61 citing papers in PubMed, 7 syntheses or guidelines pooled it, 38 citations in OpenAlex.

  1. Pooled it
  2. Pooled it
  3. Systemic immunomodulating therapies for epidermal necrolysis (Stevens-Johnson syndrome/toxic epidermal necrolysis): A systematic review and meta-analysis.Journal der Deutschen Dermatologischen Gesellschaft = Journal of the German Society of Dermatology : JDDG · 2026
    Pooled it
  4. MASCC/ISOO Clinical Practice Statement: management of oral complications of immunotherapy.Supportive care in cancer : official journal of the Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer · 2025
    Guideline
  5. Pooled it
  6. Pooled it
  7. Pooled it
  8. Article
  9. Review
  10. Article
  11. The Outcomes of SJS/TEN: A Nationwide Analysis.Journal of burn care & research : official publication of the American Burn Association · 2026
    Article
  12. Article
  13. Article
  14. Article
  15. Review
  16. Article
  17. Review
  18. Review
  19. Review
  20. Updates in the pathogenesis of SJS/TEN.Allergology international : official journal of the Japanese Society of Allergology · 2025
    Review

1 more citing papers are in PubMed but not listed here.

4 · The record

Corrections and comments

5 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

12 authors at 8 institutions in 3 countries.

Audrey JacobsenDepartment of Dermatology, University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis, MN, USA.
Bayanne OlabiDepartment of Dermatology, Lothian University Hospitals NHS Trust, Lauriston Building, Edinburgh, UK.
Annie LangleyDivision of Dermatology, Department of Medicine, The Ottawa Hospital and the University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada.
Jennifer BeeckerDivision of Dermatology, Department of Medicine, The Ottawa Hospital and the University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada.
Eric MutterDepartment of Emergency Medicine, The Ottawa Hospital, Ottawa, Canada.
Amanda ShelleyDivision of Dermatology, University of Toronto, Toronto , Canada.
Brandon WorleyFlorida Dermatology and Skin Cancer Centers, Lake Wales, Florida, USA.
Timothy RamsayClinical Epidemiology Program, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Ottawa, Canada.
Arturo SaavedraDepartment of Dermatology, University of Virginia Health System, Charlottesville, USA.
Roses ParkerMusculoskeletal, Oral, Skin and Sensory Network, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Second Floor, OUH Cowley Unipart House Business Centre, Oxford, UK.
Fiona StewartCochrane Children and Families Network, c/o Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth, Department of Women's and Children's Health, The University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK.
Jordi Pardo PardoOttawa Hospital Research Institute, The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus, Ottawa, Canada.
Ottawa Hospital · CAUniversity of Ottawa · CANHS Lothian · GBOxford University Hospitals NHS Trust · GBUniversity of Liverpool · GBUniversity of Minnesota Medical Center · USUniversity of Toronto · CAUniversity of Virginia Health System · US

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

6 · The paper itself

Abstract

backgroundStevens-Johnson syndrome (SJS), toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN), and SJS/TEN overlap syndrome are rare, severe cutaneous adverse reactions usually triggered by medications. In addition to tertiary-level supportive care, various systemic therapies have been used including glucocorticoids, intravenous immunoglobulins (IVIGs), cyclosporin, N-acetylcysteine, thalidomide, infliximab, etanercept, and plasmapheresis. There is an unmet need to understand the efficacy of these interventions.

objectivesTo assess the effects of systemic therapies (medicines delivered orally, intramuscularly, or intravenously) for the treatment of SJS, TEN, and SJS/TEN overlap syndrome. SEARCH

methodsWe searched the following databases up to March 2021: the Cochrane Skin Specialised Register, CENTRAL, MEDLINE, and Embase. We also searched five clinical trial registers, the reference lists of all included studies and of key review articles, and a number of drug manufacturer websites. We searched for errata or retractions of included studies. SELECTION CRITERIA: We included only randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and prospective observational comparative studies of participants of any age with a clinical diagnosis of SJS, TEN, or SJS/TEN overlap syndrome. We included all systemic therapies studied to date and permitted comparisons between each therapy, as well as between therapy and placebo. DATA COLLECTION AND ANALYSIS: We used standard methodological procedures as specified by Cochrane. Our primary outcomes were SJS/TEN-specific mortality and adverse effects leading to discontinuation of SJS/TEN therapy. Secondary outcomes included time to complete re-epithelialisation, intensive care unit length of stay, total hospital length of stay, illness sequelae, and other adverse effects attributed to systemic therapy. We rated the certainty of the evidence for each outcome using GRADE. MAIN

resultsWe included nine studies with a total of 308 participants (131 males and 155 females) from seven countries. We included two studies in the quantitative meta-analysis. We included three RCTs and six prospective, controlled observational studies. Sample sizes ranged from 10 to 91. Most studies did not report study duration or time to follow-up. Two studies reported a mean SCORe of Toxic Epidermal Necrosis (SCORTEN) of 3 and 1.9. Seven studies did not report SCORTEN, although four of these studies reported average or ranges of body surface area (BSA) (means ranging from 44% to 51%). Two studies were set in burns units, two in dermatology wards, one in an intensive care unit, one in a paediatric ward, and three in unspecified inpatient units. Seven studies reported a mean age, which ranged from 29 to 56 years. Two studies included paediatric participants (23 children). We assessed the results from one of three RCTs as low risk of bias in all domains, one as high, and one as some concerns. We judged the results from all six prospective observational comparative studies to be at a high risk of bias. We downgraded the certainty of the evidence because of serious risk of bias concerns and for imprecision due to small numbers of participants. The interventions assessed included systemic corticosteroids, tumour necrosis factor-alpha (TNF-alpha) inhibitors, cyclosporin, thalidomide, N-acetylcysteine, IVIG, and supportive care. No data were available for the main comparisons of interest as specified in the review protocol: etanercept versus cyclosporin, etanercept versus IVIG, IVIG versus supportive care, IVIG versus cyclosporin, and cyclosporin versus corticosteroids. Corticosteroids versus no corticosteroids It is uncertain if there is any difference between corticosteroids (methylprednisolone 4 mg/kg/day for two more days after fever had subsided and no new lesions had developed) and no corticosteroids on disease-specific mortality (risk ratio (RR) 2.55, 95% confidence interval (CI) 0.72 to 9.03; 2 studies; 56 participants; very low-certainty evidence). Time to complete re-epithelialisation, length of hospital stay, and adverse effects leading to discontinuation of therapy were not reported. IVIG versus no IVIG It is uncertain if there is any difference between IVIG (0.2 to 0.5 g/kg cumulative dose over three days) and no IVIG in risk of disease-specific mortality (RR 0.33, 95% CI 0.04 to 2.91); time to complete re-epithelialisation (mean difference (MD) -2.93 days, 95% CI -4.4 to -1.46); or length of hospital stay (MD -2.00 days, 95% CI -5.81 to 1.81). All results in this comparison were based on one study with 36 participants, and very low-certainty evidence. Adverse effects leading to discontinuation of therapy were not reported. Etanercept (TNF-alpha inhibitor) versus corticosteroids Etanercept (25 mg (50 mg if weight > 65 kg) twice weekly "until skin lesions healed") may reduce disease-specific mortality compared to corticosteroids (intravenous prednisolone 1 to 1.5 mg/kg/day "until skin lesions healed") (RR 0.51, 95% CI 0.16 to 1.63; 1 study; 91 participants; low-certainty evidence); however, the CIs were consistent with possible benefit and possible harm. Serious adverse events, such as sepsis and respiratory failure, were reported in 5 of 48 participants with etanercept and 9 of 43 participants with corticosteroids, but it was not clear if they led to discontinuation of therapy. Time to complete re-epithelialisation and length of hospital stay were not reported. Cyclosporin versus IVIG  It is uncertain if there is any difference between cyclosporin (3 mg/kg/day or intravenous 1 mg/kg/day until complete re-epithelialisation, then tapered off (10 mg/day reduction every 48 hours)) and IVIG (continuous infusion 0.75 g/kg/day for 4 days (total dose 3 g/kg) in participants with normal renal function) in risk of disease-specific mortality (RR 0.13, 95% CI 0.02 to 0.98, 1 study; 22 participants; very low-certainty evidence). Time to complete re-epithelialisation, length of hospital stay, and adverse effects leading to discontinuation of therapy were not reported. No studies measured intensive care unit length of stay. AUTHORS'

conclusionsWhen compared to corticosteroids, etanercept may result in mortality reduction. For the following comparisons, the certainty of the evidence for disease-specific mortality is very low: corticosteroids versus no corticosteroids,  IVIG versus no IVIG and cyclosporin versus IVIG. There is a need for more multicentric studies, focused on the most important clinical comparisons, to provide reliable answers about the best treatments for SJS/TEN.

Indexed as

Autoimmune DiseasesStevens-Johnson SyndromeAcetylcysteineAdrenal Cortex HormonesAdultChildCyclosporineEtanerceptFemaleHumansImmunoglobulins, IntravenousMaleMiddle AgedObservational Studies as TopicThalidomideTumor Necrosis Factor-alphaAcetylcysteineAdrenal Cortex HormonesCyclosporineEtanerceptImmunoglobulins, IntravenousThalidomideTumor Necrosis Factor-alpha

Identifiers

PMID35274741
PMCPMC8915395
OpenAlexW4220951029

What OpenQuestion holds

Textmetadata
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the OpenQuestion graph.