SynthesisThe Cochrane database of systematic reviews2017
Pharmacological and mechanical interventions for labour induction in outpatient settings.
Synthesis in The Cochrane database of systematic reviews, 2017. The graph could read no effect estimate from its abstract, so it casts no vote on the map. It is linked to 3 registered trials, which are not on this map. Cited by 32 papers, 7 of them syntheses that pooled it.
What it found
Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.
The abstract states no effect estimate the extractor could read, or names no intervention and outcome on the map, so this paper lights no cell and moves no belief. It is still indexed, cited and linked below.
The trial behind it
Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.
Clinical Evaluation of Cervical Ripening in the Outpatient Setting Using Mifepristone Versus Balloon Catheter: a Randomized Controlled Trial
Oral Misoprostol for Outpatient Induction of Labor; a Pilot Randomized-controlled Trial
Outpatient Cervical Ripening With Foley Catheter for Induction of Labour in Low Risk Women: a Quasi-experimental Study (OFC Study)
Who cites it
32 citing papers in PubMed, 7 syntheses or guidelines pooled it, 76 citations in OpenAlex.
- Oral misoprostol (PGE1) vs vaginal dinoprostone (PGE2) for labor induction: individual participant data meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.Ultrasound in obstetrics & gynecology : the official journal of the International Society of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology · 2026Pooled it
- A Meta-synthesis of Qualitative Research on Effective Return to Work Counseling for Individuals with Work Participation Restrictions - A Systematic Review.Journal of occupational rehabilitation · 2025Pooled it
- Isosorbide Mononitrate Versus Dinoprostone for Cervical Ripening During Labor Induction: a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.Reproductive sciences (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) · 2023Pooled it
- Quality appraisal of systematic reviews on methods of labour induction: a systematic review.Archives of gynecology and obstetrics · 2021Pooled it
- Motivational Interviewing and Return to Work for People with Musculoskeletal Disorders: A Systematic Mapping Review.Journal of occupational rehabilitation · 2021Pooled it
- Home versus inpatient induction of labour for improving birth outcomes.The Cochrane database of systematic reviews · 2020Pooled it
- Intracervical Foley Catheter Plus Intravaginal Misoprostol vs Intravaginal Misoprostol Alone for Cervical Ripening: A Meta-Analysis.International journal of environmental research and public health · 2020Pooled it
- Cardiotocography combined with ST analysis versus cardiotocography combined with fetal blood sampling in deliveries with abnormal CTG: a randomized trial.Archives of gynecology and obstetrics · 2023Trial
- Diffusion tensor magnetic resonance imaging of the normal fetal lung: a preliminary report.Pediatric radiology · 2026Article
- Optimizing outpatient cervical ripening: A mixed-methods study identifying implementation drivers during a multisite, randomized trial.Pregnancy (Hoboken, N.J.) · 2026Article
- Setting of Induction of Labour with Double-Balloon Catheter in Low-risk Pregnancies: Outpatient Versus Inpatient.Geburtshilfe und Frauenheilkunde · 2026Article
- Clinical outcomes and feasibility of implementing outpatient labor induction with misoprostol: A prospective cohort study.Acta obstetricia et gynecologica Scandinavica · 2025Article
- Birthing positions and mother`s satisfaction with childbirth: a cross-sectional study on the relevance of self determination.Archives of gynecology and obstetrics · 2025Article
- Cervical ripening at home or in hospital during induction of labour: the CHOICE prospective cohort study, process evaluation and economic analysis.Health technology assessment (Winchester, England) · 2024Observational
- Perinatal outcomes according to umbilical artery Doppler assessment among fetuses with congenital heart disease.Archives of gynecology and obstetrics · 2024Article
- Outpatient elective induction of labour at 39 weeks' gestation (HOME INDUCTION): an open-label, randomised, controlled, phase III, non-inferiority trial.EClinicalMedicine · 2024Article
- Comparison of two labor induction regimens with intravaginal misoprostol 25 μg and adverse perinatal outcomes.Revista da Associacao Medica Brasileira (1992) · 2024Article
- Outpatient vs inpatient induction of labor with oral misoprostol: A retrospective study.Acta obstetricia et gynecologica Scandinavica · 2023Article
- Clinicians' perspectives and experiences of providing cervical ripening at home or in-hospital in the United Kingdom.PloS one · 2023Article
- Cross-Cultural Adaptation and Psychometric Properties of the French Version of the EXIT to Measure Women's Experiences of Induction of Labor.Journal of clinical medicine · 2022Article
Corrections and comments
- Update of
Authors and funding
6 authors at 6 institutions in 4 countries.
Funding
Abstract
backgroundInduction of labour is carried out for a variety of indications and using a range of methods. For women at low risk of pregnancy complications, some methods of induction of labour or cervical ripening may be suitable for use in outpatient settings.
objectivesTo examine pharmacological and mechanical interventions to induce labour or ripen the cervix in outpatient settings in terms of effectiveness, maternal satisfaction, healthcare costs and, where information is available, safety. SEARCH
methodsWe searched the Cochrane Pregnancy and Childbirth Group's Trials Register (30 November 2016) and reference lists of retrieved studies. SELECTION CRITERIA: We included randomised controlled trials examining outpatient cervical ripening or induction of labour with pharmacological agents or mechanical methods. Cluster trials were eligible for inclusion. DATA COLLECTION AND ANALYSIS: Two review authors independently assessed trials for inclusion and risk of bias, extracted data and checked them for accuracy. We assessed evidence using the GRADE approach. MAIN
resultsThis updated review included 34 studies of 11 different methods for labour induction with 5003 randomised women, where women received treatment at home or were sent home after initial treatment and monitoring in hospital.Studies examined vaginal and intracervical prostaglandin E₂ (PGE₂), vaginal and oral misoprostol, isosorbide mononitrate, mifepristone, oestrogens, amniotomy and acupuncture, compared with placebo, no treatment, or routine care. Trials generally recruited healthy women with a term pregnancy. The risk of bias was mostly low or unclear, however, in 16 trials blinding was unclear or not attempted. In general, limited data were available on the review's main and additional outcomes. Evidence was graded low to moderate quality. 1. Vaginal PGE₂ versus expectant management or placebo (5 studies)Fewer women in the vaginal PGE₂ group needed additional induction agents to induce labour, however, confidence intervals were wide (risk ratio (RR) 0.52, 95% confidence interval (CI) 0.27 to 0.99; 150 women; 2 trials). There were no clear differences between groups in uterine hyperstimulation (with or without fetal heart rate (FHR) changes) (RR 3.76, 95% CI 0.64 to 22.24; 244 women; 4 studies; low-quality evidence), caesarean section (RR 0.80, 95% CI 0.49 to 1.31; 288 women; 4 studies; low-quality evidence), or admission to a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.10 to 1.03; 230 infants; 3 studies; low-quality evidence).There was no information on vaginal birth within 24, 48 or 72 hours, length of hospital stay, use of emergency services or maternal or caregiver satisfaction. Serious maternal and neonatal morbidity or deaths were not reported. 2. Intracervical PGE₂ versus expectant management or placebo (7 studies) There was no clear difference between women receiving intracervical PGE₂ and no treatment or placebo in terms of need for additional induction agents (RR 0.98, 95% CI 0.74 to 1.32; 445 women; 3 studies), vaginal birth not achieved within 48 to 72 hours (RR 0.83, 95% CI 0.68 to 1.02; 43 women; 1 study; low-quality evidence), uterine hyperstimulation (with FHR changes) (RR 2.66, 95% CI 0.63 to 11.25; 488 women; 4 studies; low-quality evidence), caesarean section (RR 0.90, 95% CI 0.72 to 1.12; 674 women; 7 studies; moderate-quality evidence), or babies admitted to NICU (RR 1.61, 95% CI 0.43 to 6.05; 215 infants; 3 studies; low-quality evidence). There were no uterine ruptures in either the PGE₂ group or placebo group.There was no information on vaginal birth not achieved within 24 hours, length of hospital stay, use of emergency services, mother or caregiver satisfaction, or serious morbidity or neonatal morbidity or perinatal death. 3. Vaginal misoprostol versus placebo (4 studies)One small study reported on the rate of perinatal death with no clear differences between groups; there were no deaths in the treatment group compared with one stillbirth (reason not reported) in the control group (RR 0.34, 95% CI 0.01 to 8.14; 77 infants; 1 study; low-quality evidence).There was no clear difference between groups in rates of uterine hyperstimulation with FHR changes (RR 1.97, 95% CI 0.43 to 9.00; 265 women; 3 studies; low-quality evidence), caesarean section (RR 0.94, 95% CI 0.61 to 1.46; 325 women; 4 studies; low-quality evidence), and babies admitted to NICU (RR 0.89, 95% CI 0.54 to 1.47; 325 infants; 4 studies; low-quality evidence).There was no information on vaginal birth not achieved within 24, 48 or 72 hours, additional induction agents required, length of hospital stay, use of emergency services, mother or caregiver satisfaction, serious maternal, and other neonatal, morbidity or death.No substantive differences were found for other comparisons. One small study found that women who received oral misoprostol were more likely to give birth within 24 hours (RR 0.65, 95% CI 0.48 to 0.86; 87 women; 1 study) and were less likely to require additional induction agents (RR 0.60, 95% CI 0.37 to 0.97; 127 women; 2 studies). Women who received mifepristone were also less likely to require additional induction agents (average RR 0.59, 95% CI 0.37 to 0.95; 311 women; 4 studies; I² = 74%); however, this result should be interpreted with caution due to high heterogeneity. One trial each of acupuncture and outpatient amniotomy were included, but few review outcomes were reported. AUTHORS'
conclusionsInduction of labour in outpatient settings appears feasible and important adverse events seem rare, however, in general there is insufficient evidence to detect differences. There was no strong evidence that agents used to induce labour in outpatient settings had an impact (positive or negative) on maternal or neonatal health. There was some evidence that compared to placebo or no treatment, induction agents administered on an outpatient basis reduced the need for further interventions to induce labour, and shortened the interval from intervention to birth.We do not have sufficient evidence to know which induction methods are preferred by women, the interventions that are most effective and safe to use in outpatient settings, or their cost effectiveness. Further studies where various women-friendly outpatient protocols are compared head-to-head are required. As part of such work, women should be consulted on what sort of management they would prefer.
Indexed as
Identifiers
What OpenQuestion holds
Registered trials
Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the OpenQuestion graph.