Observational studyCardiovascular diabetology2015

A real world comparison of sulfonylurea and insulin vs. incretin-based treatments in patients not controlled on prior metformin monotherapy.

Anselm K Gitt, Peter Bramlage, Steffen Schneider, Diethelm Tschöpe

Full text readComparative StudyMulticenter StudyObservational Study
In one paragraph

Observational study in Cardiovascular diabetology, 2015. The graph read 5 numbers from its abstract, feeding 3 cells of the map, but none could be read as for or against, so it casts no vote. Cited by 4 papers.

5numbers the graph read from it
0cells of the map it votes in
4citing papers in PubMed
–field-weighted citation impact
1 · What the graph read from it

What it found

Each row is one number read from the abstract, on the scale the paper reported it, with its interval. Left of the dashed line favours the treatment, right favours the comparator. Under each row is the sentence it came from. New to these charts? A ten-minute tutorial.

Read, but not usablea number the graph found but could not read as for or against

Glycemic controlcomparator not stated · t2dfeeds 3 cells of the map
OR 8.354.84 to 14.4
Hypoglycaemia rates (any with or without help and symptoms) were higher for patients receiving insulin (Odds Ratio [OR] 8.35; 95% Confidence Interval [CI] 4.84-14.4) and Met/SU (OR 2.70; 95% CI 1.48-4.92) versus Met/Incr.
Glycemic controlcomparator not stated · t2dfeeds 3 cells of the map
OR 2.701.48 to 4.92
Hypoglycaemia rates (any with or without help and symptoms) were higher for patients receiving insulin (Odds Ratio [OR] 8.35; 95% Confidence Interval [CI] 4.84-14.4) and Met/SU (OR 2.70; 95% CI 1.48-4.92) versus Met/Incr.
Glycemic controlcomparator not stated · t2dfeeds 3 cells of the map
OR 2.701.48 to 4.92
Incidence of any hypoglycaemia was lowest in patients receiving to Met/Incr (6.5%) and it was substantially higher in those receiving Met/SU (15.4%; OR 2.70; 95% CI 1.48-4.92) or insulin (37.1%; OR 8.35; 95% CI 4.84-14.4).
Glycemic controlcomparator not stated · t2dfeeds 3 cells of the map
OR 11.45.90 to 22.2
Even greater elevations over Met/Incr were seen for symptomatic hypoglycaemia without the need for help (insulin OR 11.45; 95% CI 5.90-22.2 and Met/SU OR 3.13; 95% CI 1.46-6.99).Table 4 Hypoglycaemia rates and events from baseline to 24 months for those remaining on the chosen treatment (%) Met/Incr Met/SU OR (95% CI)*vs.
Glycemic controlcomparator not stated · t2dfeeds 2 cells of the map
OR 4.651.68 to 12.9
On the other hand death (OR 4.65; 95% CI 1.68-12.9), MACCE (OR 3.08; 95% CI 1.27-7.48), and microvascular complications (OR 3.84; 95% CI 2.13-6.90) were substantially increased in those receiving insulin vs. those receiving Met/Incr.

clause the extractor read what became the number

2 · Its place on the map

Where it lands on the map

Rows are treatments, columns are outcomes. The coloured squares are the cells this paper feeds, coloured by the vote it casts there. Click one to jump to what this paper adds to it.

supports the treatmentfavours the comparatorno clear differenceread, but no usable result
3 · What it changes

What it adds to each cell

For every cell the paper feeds: the belief in the claim with and without this paper, and this paper's estimate drawn against every other readable study in the cell. The ringed dot is this paper.

Insulin×glycemic control

No readable resultOpen on the map →What to test next →

40 readable studies in this cell: 13 favour the treatment, 14 find no difference, 14 favour the comparator.

Belief with this paper
0.50contested · 9 families support, 6 contradict · against placebo
Without itNot a counted family in this claim, so removing it changes nothing.
← favours the comparatorfavours the treatment →
0 · no effect
NCT036893742,274 enrolled · 2018
Δ -0.29-0.38 to -0.20
NCT037306622,002 enrolled · 2018
Δ -0.99-1.13 to -0.86
NCT013360231,663 enrolled · 2011
Treatment contrast -0.64-0.75 to -0.53
NCT038829701,444 enrolled · 2019
Δ -0.86-1.00 to -0.72
NCT045379231,428 enrolled · 2020
Δ -1.10-1.24 to -0.97
NCT032680051,264 enrolled · 2017
Δ -0.04-0.11 to 0.03
NCT020581471,170 enrolled · 2014
Δ -0.78-0.90 to -0.67
NCT021289321,089 enrolled · 2014
Δ -0.81-0.96 to -0.67
NCT009606611,036 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.04-0.18 to 0.11
NCT00856986987 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.52-0.68 to -0.36
NCT01117350978 enrolled · 2010
Δ 2.54-3.88 to 8.93
NCT03214380933 enrolled · 2017
Δ 0.06-0.05 to 0.16

This paper's own estimate is on a different scale from the rest of the cell, so it is not drawn here.

Metformin×glycemic control

No readable resultOpen on the map →What to test next →

40 readable studies in this cell: 41 favour the treatment, 13 find no difference, 7 favour the comparator.

Belief with this paper
0.84replicated · 32 families support, 6 contradict · against placebo
Without itNot a counted family in this claim, so removing it changes nothing.
← favours the treatmentfavours the comparator →
0 · no effect
NCT017190031,413 enrolled · 2012
Adjusted mean -0.72-0.95 to -0.48
NCT018093271,186 enrolled · 2013
Δ -0.40-0.59 to -0.21
NCT022730501,136 enrolled · 2014
Δ -0.89-1.08 to -0.69
NCT008598981,093 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.53-0.74 to -0.32
Δ -0.85-43.8 to 26.7
NCT00643851994 enrolled · 2008
Δ -0.86-1.11 to -0.62
NCT01708902876 enrolled · 2012
Δ -1.00-1.23 to -0.78
NCT00676338820 enrolled · 2008
Δ -0.05-0.26 to 0.17
NCT01126580807 enrolled · 2010
Δ -0.22-0.36 to -0.08
NCT01023581784 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.67-0.96 to -0.37
NCT01076088744 enrolled · 2010
Δ -0.84-1.15 to -0.52
NCT00386100688 enrolled · 2006
Δ -0.49-0.67 to -0.30

This paper's own estimate is on a different scale from the rest of the cell, so it is not drawn here.

Sulfonylureas & glinides×glycemic control

No readable resultOpen on the map →What to test next →

31 readable studies in this cell: 7 favour the treatment, 13 find no difference, 11 favour the comparator.

Belief with this paper
0.83established · 5 families support, 1 contradict · against placebo
Without itNot a counted family in this claim, so removing it changes nothing.
← favours the comparatorfavours the treatment →
0 · no effect
NCT017093055,570 enrolled · 2012
Δ 0.190.02 to 0.36
NCT009688121,452 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.01-0.11 to 0.09
NCT006609071,217 enrolled · 2008
Δ 0.00-0.11 to 0.11
NCT003184611,091 enrolled · 2006
Δ -0.02-0.19 to 0.15
NCT008389031,049 enrolled · 2009
Δ -0.27-0.45 to -0.09
Δ 0.640.33 to 0.95
NCT03332771954 enrolled · 2017
Δ 0.12-0.12 to 0.36
NCT02471404939 enrolled · 2015
Δ 0.160.03 to 0.30
NCT00614120929 enrolled · 2008
Δ -0.06-0.23 to 0.11
NCT00575588891 enrolled · 2007
Δ 0.06-0.05 to 0.16
NCT01682759751 enrolled · 2012
Δ 0.180.06 to 0.30
NCT00294723746 enrolled · 2006
Δ -0.62-0.83 to -0.42

This paper's own estimate is on a different scale from the rest of the cell, so it is not drawn here.

4 · The registry

The trial behind it

Trials whose registry record cites this paper, or whose number appears in the abstract. A trial that started after this paper was published is citing it as background, not reporting it.

Neither the registry nor the abstract names a trial number. If this is a trial report, that itself is worth knowing.

5 · Its place in the literature

Who cites it

4 citing papers in PubMed.

  1. Article
  2. Article
  3. Review
  4. Review
6 · The record

Corrections and comments

PubMed lists nothing against this paper. Absence here is not a guarantee, only a check that was made.

7 · Who and what money

Authors and funding

4 authors.

Anselm K GittInstitut für Herzinfarktforschung Ludwigshafen an der Universität Heidelberg, Bremser Strasse 79, 67063, Ludwigshafen, Germany. gitta@klilu.de.
Peter BramlageInstitut für Pharmakologie und präventive Medizin, Mahlow, Germany. peter.bramlage@ippmed.de.
Steffen SchneiderInstitut für Herzinfarktforschung Ludwigshafen an der Universität Heidelberg, Bremser Strasse 79, 67063, Ludwigshafen, Germany. schneider@herzinfarktfoschung.de.
Diethelm TschöpeStiftung, ''Der herzkranke Diabetiker'' in der Deutschen Diabetes Stiftung, Bad Oeynhausen, Germany. diethelm.tschoepe@ruhr-uni-bochum.de.

Funding

No grant is acknowledged in the PubMed record.

8 · The paper itself

Abstract

The marked sentences are the ones the graph read a number from.

aimsMetformin is the first line drug for patients diagnosed with type-2 diabetes; however, the impact of different treatment escalation strategies after metformin failure has thus far not been investigated in a real world situation. The registry described herein goes some way to clarifying treatment outcomes in such patients.

methodsDiaRegis is a multicentre registry including 3,810 patients with type-2 diabetes. For the present analysis we selected patients being treated with metformin monotherapy at baseline (n = 1,373), with the subsequent addition of incretin-based drugs (Met/Incr; n = 783), sulfonylureas (Met/SU; n = 255), or insulin (n = 220).

resultsAfter two years 1,110 of the initial 1,373 patients had a complete follow-up (80.8%) and 726 of these were still on the initial treatment combination (65.4%). After treatment escalation, compared to Met/Incr (n = 421), Met/SU (n = 154) therapy resulted in a higher HbA1c reduction vs. baseline (-0.6 ± 1.4% vs. -0.5 ± 1.0%; p = 0.039). Insulin (n = 151) resulted in a stronger reduction in HbA1c (-0.9 ± 2.0% vs. -0.5 ± 1.0%; p = 0.003), and fasting plasma glucose (-24 ± 70 mg/dl vs. -19 ± 42 mg/dl; p = 0.001), but was associated with increased bodyweight (0.8 ± 9.0 kg vs. -1.5 ± 5.0 kg; p = 0.028). Hypoglycaemia rates (any with or without help and symptoms) were higher for patients receiving insulin (Odds Ratio [OR] 8.35; 95% Confidence Interval [CI] 4.84-14.4) and Met/SU (OR 2.70; 95% CI 1.48-4.92) versus Met/Incr. While there was little difference in event rates between Met/Incr and Met/SU, insulin was associated with higher rates of death, major cardiac and cerebrovascular events, and microvascular disease.

conclusionsTaking the results of DiaRegis into consideration it can be concluded that incretin-based treatment strategies appear to have a favourable balance between glycemic control and treatment emergent adverse effects.

Indexed as

AgedBlood GlucoseCohort StudiesDiabetes Mellitus, Type 2Drug Therapy, CombinationFemaleHumansHypoglycemic AgentsIncretinsInsulinMaleMetforminMiddle AgedProspective StudiesRegistriesSulfonylurea CompoundsBlood GlucoseHypoglycemic AgentsIncretinsInsulinMetforminSulfonylurea Compounds

Identifiers

PMID25645672
PMCPMC4324641

What OpenQuestion holds

Textfull text, public
LicenceCC BY
Read underepoch 390

Registered trials

None linked

Read under generation 80e0d062 · epoch 390. Bibliography from PubMed, PubMed Central and OpenAlex; grants from NIH RePORTER; trial links from ClinicalTrials.gov; estimates, votes and beliefs from the OpenQuestion graph.